The writer is a lonely hunter

gailaldwin

Four Buses: going to print

on October 2, 2012

You may remember that back in July, I won a competition to have sixty copies of my flash fiction and short story collection titled Four Buses printed by CPI Anthony Rowe. While it was great to become a winning author, I didn’t realise how much work would be involved in claiming this prize.  I was asked to submit a print-ready pdf of the collection together with a monochrome cover.  I set to work, finding out about typesetting and organising the stories. The process was more involved than I had imagined and together with editing, this took a considerable amount of time.  I even turned my hand to producing a mock-up of the cover but had to seek professional help for the final version. You can see the cover below:

FourBuses Cover v2

I’m delighted with the reviews on the back page, it’s great to have positive feedback from writers that I admire:

‘A varied and interesting collection from a fresh new voice.’

 –  VANESSA GEBBIE, author of The Coward’sTale

 ‘This is clever writing! Ingenious, perceptive and heartfelt: snapshots of real lives, which make us look twice – and with new understanding – at the familiar.’

–  RONALD FRAME, author of Havisham 

‘Each story in Four Buses unearths a fresh diamond of emotion: a glittering gem of truth which reveals how the world works and what it’s like to be a part of it. Each one engages in a different way and lingers in the mind long after the cover is closed.’

–  CALUM KERR, director of National Flash Fiction Day

I understand that the printed copies of the book will be with me in November, so the next stage approaches.  Planning a book launch, organising publicity, marketing, hand selling.  Now that will keep me busy until Christmas.

How about you, what do you have on your agenda?

19 responses to “Four Buses: going to print

  1. Very striking cover, Gail, I love it. I’ve just released a short story collection too 🙂 Are you publishing yours on Kindle as well, or just in paperback? Bet you can’t wait to get them in your hands – and congratulations on winning the competition. CPI are the creme of printing providers – your book will look amazing x

    • gailaldwin says:

      I was thinking about doing an ebook – but collections don’t sell terribly well – or so I understand. Your book may very well prove me wrong! Best of luck with it.

  2. You must be really keen to get your hands on those!

  3. susancarey says:

    Looks wonderful, Gail. I would love to order a copy when they’re ready. Right now I’m involved in the production of Foreign Encounters and the amount of tasks involved is mind boggling! Fortunately there’s a whole team of us so that makes it easier. I designed the cover in Wordle so I’m curious to know if people like it.
    There’s something so satisfying about having a print book in your hands and although I love my Kindle I hope real books never disappear!

  4. sanson504@tiscali.co.uk says:

    Hi Gail,

    Looks like you are doing incredibly well, the book looks good so must get a copy. Where do you get it from. How is everything going. We must meet up!

    Love Michelle

    >

    • gailaldwin says:

      Hi Michelle – I’d love to meet up. How about a Saturday or Sunday? I’m off to Portugal tomorrow but will get in touch when I get back. Will let you know about purchasing a copy of the book when the time comes.

  5. Pauline Howard says:

    This is excellent, Gail, and I would love to get a copy when available.
    My idea is to write “an idiots guide” to garden pond building and self-publish (I am in the throws of building one and the rubbish I have to ‘wade’ through – excuse the pun – to get to the nitty gritty info is ridiculous), but now I’m not so sure after what you have said about the work involved!
    Well done – you are getting there – earning from it I mean!

    • gailaldwin says:

      You would have to be really committed to garden ponds to undertake that! I hope the WWG meetings are going well. Next post is about the Wimborne Literary Festival.

  6. Congratulations Gail, I LOVE the cover!!!!!

    Very exciting! 🙂

    Xx

  7. Kathy MacLean says:

    Congratulations! When will it be available? I look forward to reading it
    Kathy

  8. trecarr says:

    Hi Gail, cover looks great, I and a few dozen others here in australia are wondering if the short stories are in fact about your experiences on the buses, if so we are also wobering how we can get a copy. Trevor Carroll

    Top Deck Stories http://trecarr.blogspot.com/ Carroll Travel Stories http://trevilde.blogspot.com/ Broken Hill History http://tremat.blogspot.com/

    • gailaldwin says:

      Hi Trevor – only two of the stories relate to travelling by bus. The book will be available on Amazon later in the year. I’ll do another post nearer the time with details. All the best
      Gail

  9. Fiona Murphy says:

    Fab news Gail. It is all hard work I am afraid. The even harder part is selling them. The cover looks great and you have some great quotes on the back cover. If you need any help let me know. Catch up soon x

Leave a Reply

